learning primary directions

Hello everyone,

Just joined this forum. I would love to know of any web sites that teach a beginner how to calculate primary directions using right and oblique ascensions. I have never used them before. I ordered Lily's CA book3, but I think I will need a Primary Directions for Dummies kind of tutorial to begin using them.

Thanks

Hi,

A) Don't feel dumb. There is a lot to learn about primaries, and not a lot of places to learn them.

B) Sometimes I amaze myself due to my own obtuseness, if there is a such a word. I have all these books and I continue to buy more books, yet virtually everything any astrologer would ever need is right there in Christian Astrology. So learning primaries from Lilly is a good way to start. Furthermore, while other works concentrate on calculating them, Lilly, ever the pragmatist, spends a good deal of time delineating them. God bless the man.

3) If Lilly and some rocky 17th century English puts you off, try these works, both available from www.astroamerica.com

a) Primary Directions A Definitive Study by Sepharial
b) The three booklets on primaries by Rumen Kolev

Caution: There is some disagreement on terminology and no consensus on symbols for primary directions. For example Lilly and Kolev use opposite meanings for Significators and Promittors. Others, A.J. Pearce for example are even less clear. So don't assume anything until you are sure where the author is going. And be prepared to do a lot of thinking in order to keep these things straight.

Lilly and others emphasize directing to fixed stars, but Lilly also directs to the terms and to antiscia. These are really neat ideas, and they deserve more attention.