Community Shield Match - Castle Besiegement

Chelsea v Liverpool
13 Aug 2006
3pm BST
Cardiff, Wales
51N29, 3W13
Asc 25,15 Scorpio

When I first looked at this chart I used my preferred method of 1st/7th with favourites Chelsea getting 1st and Mars. I reckoned Chelsea would win, Mars conj MC and Betelgeuse, probably 2-1 or 3-1.

However, I then discovered Chelsea were the holders of the Shield so looked at the castle besiegement method. Chelsea get 4th, Liverpool 1st. So this time Liverpool are Mars, indicating they would be the winners. L4 Jupiter unfortunately in 12th, but N Node in 4th a point in Chelsea's favour and they did score one goal.

The result was 2-1 to Liverpool.

I'm no expert on the castle besiegement method and I'm aware there are other factors to consider. However, I like to keep things simple if possible and this seemed pretty clear cut without the need to go into complex point-scoring.

Cheers,
Ficina

Thanks for posting this, Ficina.

I have looked at castle besiegement in detail a few years ago. Started my investigation with great hopes as the method appeared the most complex and best thought-out that I had come across up to that point. I tried to apply the techniques to soccer matches, but couldn't replicate the findings of Brady and Lehman. Which may partly explain why we haven't seen new articles on this for almost a decade now.

I have doubts that besiegement techniques would apply to sports by the way. There is no castle to take over, only two teams facing each other. For that reason I'm not entirely sure that the 1st-4th assignment is applicable.