Primary directions calculation

Hello,

I'm not very experienced in mathematics, I need some help.

When I calculate the formula :

DD = ArcSin (Sin oe x Sin ablong)
I get a negative result for Sin Ablong

Jupiter for instance is on 7? Pisces, absolute longitude is 337?
But Sin 337 = -0,3904

Can someone explain how to calculate the formula with a negative Sin please ?

Thank you very much for the assistance.

Madeleine

Re: Primary directions calculation

Madeleine wrote:Hello,

I'm not very experienced in mathematics, I need some help.

When I calculate the formula :

DD = ArcSin (Sin oe x Sin ablong)
I get a negative result for Sin Ablong

Jupiter for instance is on 7? Pisces, absolute longitude is 337?
But Sin 337 = -0,3904

Can someone explain how to calculate the formula with a negative Sin please ?

Thank you very much for the assistance.

Madeleine

In my opinion- I hope someone could confirm this, you should take like that. Then you multiply for 0.39794..... and get - 0.15548, then you can find the cosin= -8.94 or -8?56' it's a negative declination.

Anyway according Cieloeterra tables, this is a formula just for points on the ecliptic.

In every case I avoid if you need for primary directions, you can use Morinus speculum, it gives all the required data.

I use Cieloeterra method in arraging formulae for PD, and I find there are easier, more intuitive, than Kolev method.
Anyway they are the same formulae put in a different way, Marco Fumagalli and Bezza played a little with numbers.

I explained their way in one of the post of my blog. Same result as Kolev or Morinus.

http://heavenastrolabe.net/primary-dire ... -software/

Obviously for people understanding Italian I recommend CieloeTerra course and Marco Fumagalli booklet "I moti del cielo", mine are just quick calculations. This method comes from CieloeTerra in fact.

margherita
Traditional astrology at
http://heavenastrolabe.wordpress.com

Hello margherita,