It's quite clearly all wrong!

Hello,

I am very picky! You could call me 'anal', 'anorak', obsessive, compulsive, disorderly (in many ways), but I have to point this out.

After every full stop, there shall be two spaces (unless it's at the end of a paragraph of course). Why does this forum remove my second space? In fact, ALL forums do this and it's very disturbing. Are they just evil? What sun-sign would govern forums? Obviously not Virgo, else they would be perfect, like my spacing was before it got here.

Thank you for your attention.
Susan,
Edinburgh.
www.horaryqueen.co.uk

Forums might be evil. I don't really know. I do know some of their webmasters are. :lol: But the accepted form now is one space after the full stop. I'm not sure when this changed but it did. I learned this at a workshop when I worked as a publications officer. It took me awhile to get out of the habit because it is such an automatic thing.

But the accepted form now is one space after the full stop. I'm not sure when this changed but it did.

The Computer's done it! I believe the practice was changed in order to conserve, at the time, valuable bits or bytes or whatever. Even blank spaces take up space on the hard drive or wherever these masterpieces are stored. By eliminating one space after each sentence the computer uses less valuable storage and/or memory. Back in the days when floppy disks were really floppy and hard drives hadn't been invented, this was quite a savings of space. With today's huge storage it doesn't seem to matter, but it might on a server where billions of bytes are stored. I like two spaces after each stop and continue to do it regardless of what my computer or any website thinks is correct.

Yours In Righteousness,

Tom

Hi,

Thanks for taking this matter seriously. Most of my so-called friends just laugh at me, but they are the insensitive Aquarian types.