Dignity and Combustion

Hello,
I'm fairly new to this board and to classical astrology. In August I started with Zoller's Diploma Cource, and I'm reading Bonatti's 'On basic Astrology'. That's about all so far.
I'm interested in the issue of Combustion as I have a 27 Degree Libra Sun with a 0 degree Scorpio Mars in 5. Mars is Triplicityruler of my CancerAC, so the question of whether it is able to realize my primary motivation came up, hence my interest with the topic.
I red through the threads on this board on combustion, and I understand it's a highly controversial topic which denies any conclusion. I'm ok with that, I have no intend to start dragging dead cows out of the water.

What confuses me though was that several times it was suggested that good essential dignity might be able to ward off the burning effect of the sun. Or that a Sun in detriment or fall might not cause much damage. I thought so myself for a while, but it's two different pairs of shoes, isn't it? Essential dignity only tells us whether the planet is a good or a bad guy. It doesn't say anything about its strength, and combustion is all about that, at least as far as I know and understand. Likewise a Sun in detriment is a qualitatively weak Sun, a disharmonious Sun so to speak, it's not about muscles. So essential dignity should have no influence at all? At least not as far as 'physical' strength and the power to act are concerned? Or is there something about detriment and fall that I misunderstand?

And thanks to all for this interesting board, it's a great source of information (and of amusement as well sometimes..)

Best,
Yuki

Ps, please bear with me if this is a 'typical' beginner's question. I'm a bit embarrassed about it, but no risk no fun..And I really do want to understand this 'burning issue'.