19 degrees Scorpio

New guy on board. I have, for some reason become very interested in astrology again. I studied in London 1985/86 and 90/91
This looks like a great forum and I look forward to being a part of ongoing discussions.
My question today is does anyone know why 19 degrees Scorpio is considered a malefic degree?
"The accursed degree of the accursed sign"

Thanks

Scotty

Hi Scotty,

Can you tell me what your reference is? I?m aware that 19 Scorpio is one of the 28 degrees that Lilly defines as ?lame? or ?deficient? but I?m not sure if this is what you mean.

Hi Kim,

If the tradition extends as far back as Lilly?s day I don?t see how it can relate Serpens because that was only at 17 Scorpio in his era. But a link with the fixed star Acrab, also known as Graffias from the constellation Scorpio is plausible. According to Ptolemy this is of the nature of Mars and Saturn and it is reputed to have a very malevolent nature. Al Biruni also mentions the area between 15-19 Scorpio as being injurious to the eyes because of the link with this star but whether that?s relevant depends upon how old this definition is.

I believe the original quotation is from Charubel - but it's repeated in numerous twentieth century astrology books. That would put Serpentis at about 19 Scorpio, as the first publication of Charubel was in the Astrologer's Magazine in 189whatever.

Kim

Kim and Deb,

I heard it from an astrologer, Dr Eric, Morse in London 1991. Also in the book "The only way to learn astrology volume II "by March & McEverers
At the end of the book they talk about important fixed stars.
The quote. "North Scale - brilliant mind, the accursed degree. 18 Scorpio 59".

I thought Eric had said it was a Lilly reference.

Hopes this helps.

Thanks

Scotty

Hi Kim,

I think you are right. But what I?m now wondering is whether a 20th century tradition developed on the back of an older one.