Weak malefics - even more malefic?

I have a question which is quite basic, but I see some disagreement regarding this in different authors, and then I would like to hear your opinion: weak malefics act even in a more malefic way or they do less harm? For example, what happens if Mars is combust, retrograde and, say, squared by Saturn?

The opposite can also be asked.... If Saturn is exalted, for example, it is less malefic or his effects are even worse? What happens when a malefic is dignified?

Thank you all and Best Regards
Yair Alon
Kabbalist

I'm not an expert here, but I recall reading that combustion makes a planet weaker, whether it be in its ability to be beneficial or malefic. So according to what I have read, a combust mars would be less malefic.

If a malefic is exalted or in its domicile, it is supposed to be less malefic because a planet in its exalted or domicile sign is better able to channel its energy towards constructive ends. Likewise, a malefic in fall or detriment will tend to express its energies in a less constructive way. Regardless of the essential dignity of a malefic though, a malefic is still a malefic.

This is just my understanding of the issue though, others more knowledgeable than myself might be more helpful.

AstroNovice wrote:I'm not an expert here, but I recall reading that combustion makes a planet weaker, whether it be in its ability to be beneficial or malefic. So according to what I have read, a combust mars would be less malefic.
Hi Astronovice,

You got it wrong there. A combustion is a debility which affects the expression of the combusted planet whether is malefic or benefic. And to know the source of that "interference" we must see who or what is the Sun in the chart.

For instance, imagine that Mars rules the 10th house of a nativity chart, and so it represents the career of a person. Imagine then that the sun is the ruler of the 7th house and it represents the spouse or "other people".