Can Malefics afflict through trines and sextiles?

I am studying seriously medieval astrology and am wondering if a malefic, especially in its fall or detriment, can actually harm another planet through what are typically regarded as benefic aspects (trines and sextiles). An example would be that a friend of mine has Saturn retrograde in Leo in very close trine to Jupiter in Sagittarius. So I'm wondering if this aspect should be interpreted as an ease of affliction from Saturn or if in fact instead Jupiter, strong in Sagittarius, actually could be interpreted as offering aid to Saturn.

the Titanic sunk with the Moon in trine to Mars. sextiles and trines indicate ease, but sometimes this can mean an ease with which a malefic is able to damage. the Titanic didn't hang on the rocks for days -- it sunk in two hours. that is ridiculously fast. a trine to Saturn in Leo sounds tough, but could be alleviated somewhat if Jupiter dominates the trine, or if a benefic influence lends an assisting ray. no hard and fast rule -- you have to take it all in stride and put every aspect in context of supporting factors (because if something is reliable, it will be shown in at least 3 ways).
http://wadecaves.com | hello@wadecaves.com

Re: Can Malefics afflict through trines and sextiles?

Lazarus wrote:I am studying seriously medieval astrology and am wondering if a malefic, especially in its fall or detriment, can actually harm another planet through what are typically regarded as benefic aspects (trines and sextiles). An example would be that a friend of mine has Saturn retrograde in Leo in very close trine to Jupiter in Sagittarius. So I'm wondering if this aspect should be interpreted as an ease of affliction from Saturn or if in fact instead Jupiter, strong in Sagittarius, actually could be interpreted as offering aid to Saturn.
Don't forget the dictum of trines in signs of long ascension acting as opposition.

https://tonylouis.wordpress.com/2012/01 ... t-a-trine/