Conditional Validity of VImshottari

This might be of interest to anyone using VImshottari Dasa,

I am studying the Lomasha Samhita material (the extant parts anyway) and to my surprise I discovered a surprising tidbit. The translator points out that Lomasha Samhita presents a condition to VImshottari. Actually he presents two of them. Here they are verbatim, as he is comparing the Parasara (BPHS) and Lomasha S (LS) texts:

"There are some conflicts between the two texts at some places as well. For example in the case of Vimshottari dasha Lomasha Samhita recommends that is should be used if lagna is in the hora of Sun in the dark fortnight or in the hora of Moon in the bright fortnight (LS shlokas 9.112 onwards). BPHS does not mention any such restriction. The description of the Vimshottari dasha is also slightly different from that found in BPHS since according to LS one can count from either Ardra or Krittika depending upon other factors. " (Transl. Veneet Kumar)

Then the editor to that translation adds the following, which may surprise you as it did me. I append it next, without the Sanskrit which I am unable to paste intact in the forum.

" Editor Chandrashekhar?s Comments: As a matter of fact BPHS does mention the fact of Vimshottari having to be used when birth is in the hora of Sun is in dark fortnight or hora of Chandra in bright fortnight thus:

sai?? k???e'rkahor?y?? candrahor?gate site| dahan?tsvark?aparyanta? ga?ayennavabhirharet ||
However the variation of counting from Ardra as indicated in LS, when such is not the case, does not appear in BPHS. "

In both my copies of the BPHS, in English from G.S.Kapoor and from G Sharma, neither of these subtelties appear, or neither are translated, and I dont read Sanskrit. So I have to rely on Chandrashekhar.

(this reminds me of KN Rao's comment that our existing versions (in English) of Parasara and even Jaimini are mangled.)