home articles forum events
glossary horary quiz consultations links more

Glossary of Terms

Glossary of Terms


- division of the planets, signs and chart areas into the polarities of diurnal or nocturnal. The word itself represents division (as in section), but also implies unification within that division through affiliation and common interest (as in a religious sect).

Of the signs, those which are masculine are also diurnal: Aries, Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius and Aquarius; those which are feminine are also nocturnal: Taurus, Cancer, Virgo, Scorpio, Capricorn, Pisces.

Of the traditional planets, those which are diurnal are: Sun, Jupiter, Saturn; those which are nocturnal are: Moon, Venus, Mars. Mercury is unique in having no affiliation to either sect but is usually considered diurnal as a morning star and nocturnal as an evening star (the scheme excludes the outer planets).

The alignment of a planet with its proper sect is considered favourable; that is, diurnal planets are more beneficial in diurnal charts and placed in diurnal signs and areas (when they are described as 'in sect'). See 'diurnal/nocturnal', 'hayz' and 'security'.

 back back

© Deborah Houlding, 2012

Horary Astrology
More Entries:
A-G | H-P | Q-Z

Contact Deborah Houlding  | terms and conditions  
All rights on all text and images reserved. Reproduction by any means is not permitted without the express
agreement of Deborah Houlding or in the case of articles by guest astrologers, the copyright owner indictated