Those Darn Tapes

I am back to basics on this one. I can?t figure out what the significators are.

The situation is that I have been attempting for more than two years to get someone to send me some incredible vacation videos. A couple of years ago I ran into this Australian guy who took some video of our vacation. He promised to send me a copy of the videos once we got back home. We actually agreed to trade videos, as I had some footage that he wanted and vice versa. Once I got back home, I spent a lot of time chatting with this guy, John. This was back on 2002. After a lot of procrastination I edited my tapes and sent them to him in Australia. He claimed that he sent his to me some time before that but I never got anything. I didn?t want to press the point because by that time our internet chats had turned serious as he was taking care of a sick friend who had cancer. His friend was only about 25 and eventually died. I didn?t want to bring up the subject of the videos while John was dealing with this. Three months after his friend died, I asked about the tapes and he got all angry with me and we didn?t chat for over a year.