Skyscript home page

Glossary of Terms

Glossary of Terms

Sign Ruler

Each of the twelve signs of the zodiac are governed (or 'ruled') by one of the seven traditional planets as shown in the diagram below. These are the traditional rulerships of the signs that have been used by astrologers for about 2000 years. Under this scheme, the signs are known as the domiciles or houses/natural homes of the planets, so that the Sun is at home in Leo and the Moon is at home in Cancer. The remaining five planets have two domiciles each, one being the 'day house' where it finds diurnal expression, the other being the 'night house' (shaded grey) where it finds nocturnal expression.

Since the discovery of Uranus, Neptune and Pluto these have been used as co-rulers of Aquarius, Pisces and Pluto by many modern astrologers, although there is now increasing acceptance that the outer planets are invisible to the naked eye, transpersonal in effect, and not an intrinsic part of the traditional sign-rulership scheme.

Astrology Sign rulers

For more on the details and philosophy of this arrangement see: Understanding Planetary Dignity & Debility part III: Essential Dignity by Deborah Houlding

Lilly's Table of Essential Dignities

 back back

Horary Astrology
More Entries:
A-G | H-P | Q-Z